Hyzler, Dr. Adrian. What will get us to the other side of this pandemic? 2020, Relocate Global. www.relocatemagazine.com/. Accessed 21 Apr. 2020.
You can use this guide to aid in your research for the tenth grade Science FAQ Unit. Use the menu at the left to help locate the particular types of resources that you need, be they books or online articles.
HERE ARE WORD DEFINITIONS AND USAGE THAT ARE IMPORTANT FOR THIS UNIT:
Antibody: (noun) Any of numerous protein molecules produced by B cells as a primary immune defense, each kind having a uniquely shaped site that combines with a foreign antigen, as of a virus, and disables it.
"antibody" 1. Random House Webster's College Dictionary. 1991.
Antigen: (noun) Any substance that can stimulate the production of antibodies and combine specifically with them.
"antigen" 1. Random House Webster's College Dictionary. 1991.
Bacteria: (noun) Plural of BACTERIUM
Bacterium: (noun) A member of a large group of unicellular micro-organisms lacking organelles and an organized nucleus, some of which can cause disease.
"bacterium" Concise Oxford Dictionary of Current English. 9th ed. 1995.
Communicable: (adjective) READILY TRANSMITTABLE Able to be passed from one person, animal or organism to another - a communicable disease.
"communicable" Encarta World English Dictionary, 1999.
Epidemic: (noun) An outbreak or unusually high occurrence of a disease or illness in a population or area.
"epidemic" American Heritage Medical Dictionary, 2007
Immune: (adjective) Protected from getting a particular disease because of natural resistance, resistance acquired after catching the disease before, or resistance conferred by inoculation.
Immunity: (noun) A body's ability to resist a particular disease, whether existing naturally or as a result of inoculation or previous infection.
Immunize: (verb) To make somebody resistant to a particular disease, especially by vaccination.
"immunity" Encarta World English Dictionary, 1999.
Pathogen: (noun) An agent causing disease.
"pathogen" Concise Oxford Dictionary of Current English. 9th ed. 1995.
Vaccine: (noun) A preparation of dead, or live attenuated viruses or bacteria for use in the prevention of infectious diseases by inducing active immunity.
"vaccine" Melloni's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, 4th ed. 2002.
Vector: (noun) A public health term for a disease-carrying animal; arachnid, such as a tick; or insect, such as a mosquito that transmits pathogens to cause an infectious disease in a person.
"vector" American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia. 2003.
Virus: (noun) 1a. Any of various submicroscopic agents that infect living organisms, often causing disease, and that consist of a single or double strand of RNA or DNA surrounded by a protein coat. Unable to replicate without a host cell, viruses are typically not considered living organisms. b. A disease caused by a virus.
"virus" 1. American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, 5th ed. 2000.
Online Resources
To access online library resources, HFC faculty, staff, and current students can use their HFC username and password to log in. This username and password will be the same login information used to access email, Moodle, etc. Please visit the IT Help Desk page for any questions or assistance with your HFC username and password.
Print Resources
Checking out books from the library requires an HFC Library barcode, available at the library's Circulation Desk. The barcode is a sticker that is placed on the back of your HFC student/faculty ID card. You can visit the library Circulation Desk during normal library hours to easily set up your library account and receive your barcode sticker.