LibGuides: HVAC Technician Program at HFC: Articles

Periodical Titles for HVAC Technician

HVAC Technician Journals @ HFC
A collection of HVAC Technician journals available through the HFC library's electronic resources.
Air Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration News
Articles, interviews, business profiles, new products, timely news of note and patent information for professionals in air conditioning, heating and refrigeration.
Buildings
Covers topics in the areas of building science, building engineering, architecture design, etc.
Heating/Piping/Air Conditioning Engineering
Providing expertise and insights into the latest products, solutions and technologies being used in commercial, industrial and institutional building HVAC applications. Leveraging high-quality content to drive brand awareness, build marketing pipeline and generate leads for marketers wanting to connect with mechanical engineers and contractors who are designing, specifying, operating and maintaining systems with HVAC applications.

Article Databases

Accessing online resources from home using your HFC username and password. Please contact the IT Help Desk for questions regarding your username or password.

If you have receive an error trying to open up the links below, try right-clicking on the title and choosing Open link in incognito window.

You can also search additional databases on the Library's homepage under Research Databases.

Vocational Studies Premier (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to support research in two-year colleges, and offers content geared to academic institutions offering associates degrees and vocational programs.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
Applied Science & Technology Full Text (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from scientific and technical publications.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
More than 60 databases with millions of full-text articles, from popular magazines, newspapers, academic/professional journals, and reference books covering most subject disciplines and topics.
Wilson/EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
More than 70 databases with academic journals and magazines, by discipline: Humanities, Social Sciences, Nursing (CINAHL), Science, Technology, Business, Education, Law, etc.

Types of Articles

Tip: Most databases have a box you can check that will limit your results to scholarly articles!

Academic Journals: Scholarly

Written for those doing academic research, often with a lot of technical jargon
Articles are reviewed by experts before being published ("peer-reviewed")
Usually produced by non-profit educational publishers
Goal is to show research, educate, and expand knowledge in a field

Trade Journals: Scholarly

Written for those working in certain career fields or industries, with a focus on current trends in those fields
Usually published by professional associations
Examples: the ABA Journal (published by the American Bar Association), the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA), and Social Work (published by the National Association of Social Workers)
Goal is similar to academic journals, but aimed at professionals in a specific field and may also focus on current trends in the field

Popular Press / Magazines: Not Scholarly

Written for the general public
Best for current events, pop culture, etc.
Usually published by commercial media companies
Goal is to entertain or inform the public

Newspapers / News Agencies: Not Scholarly

Written by journalists / reporters
Goal is to inform the public of recent events on a local or national level
Published frequently -- typically daily or weekly

News Article Sources -- National and International

In addition to using library databases to find news articles, you can often find the day's most recent news articles directly on a news organization's website. Here is a great list of credible, neutral news outlets that have up-to-the-minute articles on current events around the world.

News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, transcripts, and radio and TV broadcasts.
Newspaper Source Plus (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org

Associated Press
American multinational nonprofit news agency that operates as a cooperative, unincorporated association.
BBC News
International news from the British Broadcasting Corporation
C-SPAN
American cable and satellite television network that was created as a public service.
National Public Radio
Non-profit membership media organization that serves as a national syndicator to a network of 900 public radio stations in the United States.
Reuters
News from around the world

News Article Sources -- Local

In addition to using library databases to find news articles, you can often find the day's most recent local news articles directly on a news organization's website. Here is a great list of local news outlets that have up-to-the-minute articles on current events in and around Metro Detroit.

Crain's Detroit Business
Detroit business newspaper
Detroit Free Press
Local newspaper
FOX 2
Local news station
Local 4
Local news station
Metro Times
Detroit local event newspaper
MLive
Search many local papers in Michigan
WXYZ
Local news station

HVAC Technician Program at HFC

What is a Database?

When Do You Need an Article?

Periodical Titles for HVAC Technician

Article Databases

Types of Articles

News Article Sources -- National and International

News Article Sources -- Local