Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Creative Commons-licensed copies of all the books which were available online from a specific publisher at the end of 2012.
Free and open learning materials for job-driven workforce development
Repository for the Open University in the United Kingdom.
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
Links to OERs by subject and material type.
Defining "Open" in Open Content
Defining the "Open" in Open Content
The term "open content" describes any copyrightable work (traditionally excluding software, which is described by other terms like "open source") that is licensed in a manner that provides users with free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activities: Source: http://opencontent.org/definition/
Open Education Resources (OERs)
Besides our catalog and research databases, there are several Open Education Resources (OER's) that can be found online through sites such as the ones listed below. As always, be sure to verify that individual items are copyright free before incorporating them into your course materials:
- OER Commons: Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching and learning materials that you may freely use and reuse at no cost. Unlike fixed, copyrighted resources, OER have been authored or created by an individual or organization that chooses to retain few, if any, ownership rights. In some cases, that means you can download a resource and share it with colleagues and students. (website description)
- Creative Commons: Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools. (website description)
- MERLOT II (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching): MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. (website description)
- TED: TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).(website description)
- Audio Archive: This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download. (website description, emphasis added)
- SIRIS Image Gallery (Smithsonian): The SIRIS Image Gallery contains a sampling of visual records that are part of the Collections Search Center. The Image Gallery includes over 530,000 electronic images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian.(website description)
- Project Gutenberg: Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. (website description)
- Wisc-Online OER: Wisc-Online is a digital library of interactive web-based learning resources; offers profile, forum, members area, and contacts. (website description)