LibGuides: COVID-19 (Coronavirus): Remote Library Resources

HFC Eshleman Library Hours of Operation

Winter 2024 Semester

In person (Building B) and online service is available Monday - Thursday 7:45 am - 7:00 pm and Friday 7:45 am - 4:30 pm.

You can contact the library by the following means:

By live chat (the "Ask a Librarian!" box towards the lower right of the library's home page)
By email – contact us here (research or general questions) or email the Library Director at kharger@hfcc.edu (questions about fines, MeL items, or registration holds)
By phone – (313) 845-9606, we will respond during library business hours.
By text message - (313) 241-3489

Please go to the library homepage to contact the library with any questions and connect with our virtual support services!

How Do I Get Stuff Online? In Person?

Online Resources

To access online library resources, HFC faculty, staff, and current students can use their HFC username and password to log in. This username and password will be the same login information used to access email, Moodle, etc. Please visit the IT Help Desk page for any questions or assistance with your HFC username and password.

Print Resources

Checking out books from the library requires an HFC Library barcode, available at the library's Circulation Desk. The barcode is a sticker that is placed on the back of your HFC student/faculty ID card. You can visit the library Circulation Desk during normal library hours to easily set up your library account and receive your barcode sticker.

Find Articles

Library databases are available remotely and contain a wide variety of articles (scholarly, peer-reviewed, popular, news, etc.) across a wide variety of topics. You may access all of the library's databases from the library's homepage under" Research Databases". You will need a library card number to access these (see above for more information).

Some databases to try:

Academic OneFile (Gale) ~[392]~
Academic OneFile is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database.
General OneFile (Gale) ~[392]~
News, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) ~[392]~
Designed for pro-con arguments, this database features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals and more.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
News (Gale OneFile) ~[392]~
Provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, transcripts, and radio and TV broadcasts.
OmniFile Full Text Select (Wilson/EBSCO) ~[392]~
Contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.
Newspaper Source Plus (Wilson/EBSCO) ~[392]~
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
Academic Search Complete (Wilson/EBSCO) ~[392]~
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
Literature Resource Center (LRC) (Gale) ~[392]~
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews from 1926 to the present on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

MeL Resources

The Michigan eLibrary has worked to provide access to free, additional content so all types of learners can be supported with quality tools and materials.

You can find the content here: https://mel.org/covid19

If you have a Michigan State ID card or Driver's License, you can also access MeL's databases here: https://mel.org/az.php

Don't have a library card? Get Free Content

During COVID-19 some publishers and database vendors are offering free access to some of their material. You will not need a library card for these resources.

Project MUSE
For Humanities and Social Sciences. Contented update daily.
JSTOR--Public Health
Public Health journals.
The Public Domain Song Anthology
The Music Library Association Open Edition and first open educational score anthology is a permanent open access resource published by the University of Virginia Aperio Press.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books)
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books) provides open access to over 854 Academic peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is a collection of peer-reviewed open access e-journals
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A repository providing access to public domain and in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.