The Henry Ford College Eshleman Library has online research databases available to students, faculty, and staff. These databases are accessible from off-campus, with your HFC username and password. When problems occur, they are most often web browser issues, but can also be due to other problems, or temporary technical issues with the resources. If you have any questions or need help, please contact a librarian.
Known problems and possible solutions:
Browser, network, website security or ISP problem (most common issues):
- Change browser: Try a different browser (Firefox, Chrome, Safari). This is the most common solution. Databases such as CINAHL and Kanopy seem to work best in Firefox.
- Browser cache full: Go to the browser settings and clear the history (cache) and cookies, restart your browser, and try to reconnect.
- Browser update required: Check to ensure that your browser is up to date.
- JavaScript and/or cookies disabled: Go to the browser settings and enable JavaScript/allow cookies.
- Local firewall preventing use of the library proxy: This problem is especially common in corporate or institutional settings. Contact your local network administrator for support.
- Internet service provider (ISP) preventing use of the library proxy: Some ISPs, especially satellite providers, may prevent the use of proxies. Contact your ISP for support.
Password problem: Please contact a librarian
Database is asking for a password other than your HFC username/password: The library usually does not use separate login information for databases. If a database asks for a different password, it is often due to the following factors:
- The user tried to access the database directly, rather than linking from the HFC library page: Access the resource only from the Library web site (do not use bookmarks or copied URLs).
- The database timed out due to inactivity: Initiate a new session using a link from the Library web site.
- The number of simultaneous users allowed under the library's contract for the database has been exceeded: wait a few minutes, then try to access the resource again.
If all else fails:
