LibGuides: COLL 101 -- College Success: Careers Assignment

Research Strategy

Research Strategy

Use government websites like O*Net and Occupational Outlook Handbook to find basic information about your potential career, including job skills, education needed, job market growth, income, etc. If you know what job you want to explore (i.e. physical therapist), try O*Net first. If you want to browse career fields (i.e., health care), try Occupational Outlook Handbook first.
Search the library's book catalog (for print books on the shelf) or ebook collections (for ebooks) to find books about your career.
Use Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile), Vocational Studies Premier (Wilson/EBSCO), or Gale Power Search to find magazine or newspaper articles related to your career. Be sure to use at least two keywords to search for articles.

O*Net Online
Includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with occupations.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a career resource offering information on the hundreds of occupations that provide most of jobs in the United States. Each occupational profile describes the typical duties performed by the occupation, the work environment of that occupation, the typical education and training needed to enter the occupation, the median pay for workers in the occupation, and the job outlook over the coming decade for that occupation.
Michigan Bureau of Labor Market Information and Strategic Initiatives
Gives data and statistical information on Michigan employment and occupational trends.

University of Michigan Dearborn - Mardigian LIbrary
Currently enrolled students at HFC who bring their HFC student ID and a printout of their current schedule can borrow circulating print books from the Mardigian Library at the University of Michigan - Dearborn.
Dearborn Public Library
Currently enrolled students at HFC who bring their student ID and a printout of their current schedule will receive a library card from the Dearborn Public Library.
Michigan eLibrary
The Michigan eLibrary (MeL) is a statewide service of the Library of Michigan, an agency of the Michigan Department of Education. It allows Michigan residents to request books and materials from any participating library in the state of Michigan, to be checked out and returned to their own home library, completely free of charge.

eBook Academic Collection (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
eBook Public Library Collection (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full text ebook titles designed specifically for public libraries. Featuring fiction and nonfiction titles for adults and juveniles as well as containing a wide range of subjects and topics to meet patron’s research and recreational needs.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly ebooks selected and curated by librarians on a variety of subjects.

Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Offers information to aid users in researching a vocation, searching for jobs and appropriate schools, and maintaining a career.
Vocational Studies Premier (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to support research in two-year colleges, and offers content geared to academic institutions offering associates degrees and vocational programs.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
More than 60 databases with millions of full-text articles, from popular magazines, newspapers, academic/professional journals, and reference books covering most subject disciplines and topics.