Symbol for poisonous contents from United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE).
Summer 2024 Semester
In person (Building B) and online service is available Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 6:00 pm.
You can contact the library by the following means:
Please go to the library homepage to contact the library with any questions and connect with our virtual support services!
Vacapinta, Ricardo. Poison. 2007, Private collection. www.flickr.com. Accessed 25 Apr. 2020.
You can use this guide to aid in your research for the tenth grade Science FAQ Unit. Use the menu at the left to help locate the particular types of resources that you need, be they books or online articles.
HERE ARE WORD DEFINITIONS THAT ARE IMPORTANT FOR THIS UNIT:
Antidote: (noun) A medicine or other remedy for counteracting the effects of poison, disease, etc.
"antidote." 1. Random House Webster's College Dictionary. 1991.
Dose: (noun) A quantity of a medicine or drug taken or recommended to be taken at a particular time.
"dose". The Oxford American College Dictionary. 2002.
Contaminate: (verb) To make impure or unclean by contact or mixture.
"contaminate" 1. The American Heritage Medical Dictionary, 2007.
Corrupt: (adjective) infected; tainted.
"corrupt." 3. Random House Webster's College Dictionary. 1991.
Envenom: (verb) to impregnate with venom; make poisonous.
"envenom." 1. Random House Webster's College Dictionary. 1991.
Ingest: (verb used with an object) to take, as food, into the body. (past tense: ingested - Example: The drug is more easily ingested in pill form.)
"ingest." 1. Dictionary.com. 2017. Accessed 6 Nov. 2017.
Lethal: (adjective) of or causing death; deadly; fatal: a lethal weapon; a lethal dose.
"lethal." 1. Random House Webster's College Dictionary. 1991.
Poison: (noun) Any substance which, when introduced into or absorbed by a living organism, destroys life or injures health, irrespective of mechanical means or direct thermal changes. Popularly applied to a substance capable of destroying life by rapid action, and when taken in small quantity.
"poison." 2.a. The Oxford English Dictionary. Second ed., 1989.
Taint: (verb - used with an object) to infect, contaminate, corrupt, or spoil (past tense: tainted - Example: The evil duke tainted the wine with an odorless, tasteless poison.)
"taint." 6. Dictionary.com. 2017. Accessed 6 Nov. 2017.
Toxic: (adjective) of, pertaining to, affected with, or caused by a toxin or poison: a toxic condition.
"toxic." 1. Random House Webster's College Dictionary. 1991.
Toxicant: (noun) A poison or poisonous agent.
"toxicant." 1. The American Heritage Medical Dictionary, 2007.
Toxin: (noun) Any poison produced by an organism, including the bacterial toxins that are the causative agents of tetanus, diphtheria, etc., and such plant and animal toxins as ricin and snake venom.
"toxin." Random House Webster's College Dictionary. 1991.
Toxicology: (noun) The study of the nature, effects, and detection of poisons and the treatment of poisoning.
"Toxicology." 1. Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 1995.
Venom: (noun) A poisonous fluid produced by an animal and injected by a bite or sting in order to immobilize prey or defend itself. Venoms are produced by a wide range of animals, including snakes, scorpions, spiders, and fish.
"Venom." 1. Encarta World English Dictionary. 1999.
Online Resources
To access online library resources, HFC faculty, staff, and current students can use their HFC username and password to log in. This username and password will be the same login information used to access email, Moodle, etc. Please visit the IT Help Desk page for any questions or assistance with your HFC username and password.
Print Resources
Checking out books from the library requires an HFC Library barcode, available at the library's Circulation Desk. The barcode is a sticker that is placed on the back of your HFC student/faculty ID card. You can visit the library Circulation Desk during normal library hours to easily set up your library account and receive your barcode sticker.