LibGuides: ENG 132 -- College Writing and Research: Haller / Research Documentation Project

Research Strategy

1. Before beginning your research on this assignment, spend some time thinking about your hypothesis about "the good life."

2. Come up with a list of keywords related to your problem to get started.

Is there more than one way to describe your hypothesis? For example, if you are writing about having children, you could also search using parenting, motherhood / fatherhood, raising children, etc.
What are other words/phrases you could use to describe "the good life?"

3. Check general sources, such as Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library), to find out more about your hypothesis and update your keyword list with new phrases / words.

4. Look for ebooks that might give you more detailed information.

5. Check databases for journal/magazine/news articles related to your good life hypothesis.

Use the following subjects / keywords to describe "the good life" when searching for sources:

Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
eBook Academic Collection (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly ebooks selected and curated by librarians on a variety of subjects.

You can try searching these other local libraries as well:

University of Michigan Dearborn - Mardigian LIbrary
Currently enrolled students at HFC who bring their HFC student ID and a printout of their current schedule can borrow circulating print books from the Mardigian Library at the University of Michigan - Dearborn.
Dearborn Public Library
Currently enrolled students at HFC who bring their student ID and a printout of their current schedule will receive a library card from the Dearborn Public Library.
Michigan eLibrary
The Michigan eLibrary (MeL) is a statewide service of the Library of Michigan, an agency of the Michigan Department of Education. It allows Michigan residents to request books and materials from any participating library in the state of Michigan, to be checked out and returned to their own home library, completely free of charge.

Wilson/EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
More than 70 databases with academic journals and magazines, by discipline: Humanities, Social Sciences, Nursing (CINAHL), Science, Technology, Business, Education, Law, etc.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
More than 60 databases with millions of full-text articles, from popular magazines, newspapers, academic/professional journals, and reference books covering most subject disciplines and topics.
Academic Search Complete (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org