LibGuides: Nursing (NSG): Articles

Databases for Nursing and Other Related Subjects

You will need a library card number to access the databases from off-campus. Please contact a librarian if you do not have one.

Best Bets:

CINAHL Complete (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Preferred database for Nursing Journals.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Search for peer-reviewed articles.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org

For General Medical Topic Overviews:

Health and Wellness (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Find definitions, disease information, consumer drug guides, and alternative medicine.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
A great place to start your research to get factual background information on medical topics.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Use to find articles on popular medical topics.

Try searching some of these free databases for additional information:

MedlinePlus
Produced by the National Library of Medicine for information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues.
PubMed Central
Full-text biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
MeSH
MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is the controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed.
Drug Information Portal
National Library of Medicine information on prescription drugs. Search by trade name or generic name.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Search for clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Find data on many diseases, environmental health, and healthy living.