© 2014 dandy. Licensed under CC-BY.
"The most comprehensive searchable index of free scientific and scholarly content in full-text formats." (Choice Reviews)
Everything published by the Federal government is free of any copyright restrictions. The research, reports and websites can be useful resources for classes when creating your own course material.
The Homeland Security Digital Library is a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Topics include maritime, unmanned aerial systems, terrorism, epidemics and many more.
SciTech Connect is a collection of science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.
If there are no high-quality OER available on your topic or if you have course materials that you believe are superior to the OER available to you online, you may want to consider creating or licensing your own course materials. Creating OER can be as simple as openly licensing and sharing your lesson plans online, or they can be as complex as publishing a traditional textbook.
If you are unable to find an OER that meets your needs as-is, you have other options! Because OER are openly licensed, you can edit and adapt the materials to meet your needs. This can include small and larger changes!
Just like traditional textbooks, open educational materials must be accessible to all students. Below are resources that help with accessibility standards for OER.
Tools to help you adopt, adapt, and create OER.Ebook licensing can be tricky; contact Tessa in the library to check whether the ebook you'd like to use has multi-user licensing so your entire class can access.
A collection of scholarly ebooks selected and curated by librarians on a variety of subjects.
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Access Tip: Also available via 
MeL.org
Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
Articles and videos from library databases can be incorporated into a course.
More than 60 databases with millions of full-text articles, from popular magazines, newspapers, academic/professional journals, and reference books covering most subject disciplines and topics.
More than 70 databases with academic journals and magazines, by discipline: Humanities, Social Sciences, Nursing (CINAHL), Science, Technology, Business, Education, Law, etc.
These sites tend to have a lot of K-12 content. Many sites will have a search filter to view just college-level material. These are just a few examples; search the web for organizations relevant to your topic and check out their educational resources.
Hand Drawn Goods Pixabay Flaticon
The Noun Project Vecteezy Public Domain Clip Art
Brainy Icons Free, CC BY, via Hand Drawn Goods.