LibGuides: OER at HFC (Open Educational Resource): Social Sciences OER

Social Science Open Textbooks

InTech Social Science Open Textbooks
OER Commons: Social Science Collection Resources
OpenStax: Social Sciences
Open Education Consortium--Social Sciences
Open Textbook Library: Social Sciences
Includes reviews of books.
OER@ UTSA
Beautiful listing of resources.
LibreTexts: Social Sciences
This Living Library is a principal hub of the LibreTexts project, which is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.
Introduction to Paleoanthropology
Introduces the field of physical anthropology: study of human biology, nonhuman primates, and hominid fossil record. Places paleoanthropology within overall context of anthropological studies.
Introduction to Sociology 2e
OpenStax

Anthropology YouTube Channels

Videos for EdX course examining ways in which anthropology as a discipline can shed new perspectives on
current world issues, from indigeneity to migration and material culture.

Sociology Textbooks

Open Social Work Education Project

Open Social Work Education
Open Social Work Education (OSWE) is a collaborative project dedicated to creating open educational resources for all standard courses social work by 2025.

U.S. Government Websites

OpenStax

OpenStax textbooks are free, open-source, peer-reviewed, and high-quality. Most include test banks, slides, and other supplemental materials for faculty.

A second edition of their Principles of Microeconomics is in development and will be available soon.

Open Textbooks

Economic Policy Simulator

Economic Policy Simulator
Beginning with the details of an unnamed country, this interactive exercise lets students combine various economic policies to analyse their future impact (in the following two years) on the main macroeconomic indicators.

The CORE Project

CORE Econ
CORE is a global collaborative project in economics. It's empirically motivated and illustrated: students learn models motivated by facts from history, experiments and data. This full curriculum includes textbook, quizzes, and lecture slides.

Videos

60-Second Adventures in Economics
A series of 6 quick sketch-style videos illustrating different economics principles.
Marginal Revolution University
This is an extensive library of educational economics videos, created by George Mason University economics professors Tyler Cowen and Alex Tabarrok.

Textbook Gallery [Geography]

World Regional Geography

Physical Geography

Essentials of Geographic Information Systems

An Introduction to Geology

Browse Major Repositories

Open Textbook Library - browse geography books
Includes books that have been vetted/reviewed by faculty covering diverse business topics: management, business ethics, marketing, accounting, and statistics, as well as texts for introductory courses.
Open Geography Education

Geography TedTalks
Interesting, current supplemental materials for geography teachers and students.
Curated by Seth Dixon
NOAA: Great Lakes Eco-Region

Gapminder is a tool to help create free teaching resources based on reliable statistics.

If it were my home.com
If It Were My Home is a tool to compare living conditions in your own country to those of another.

NOBA

"Noba is an open and free online platform that provides high-quality, flexibly structured textbooks and educational materials."

Psychology Open Textbooks

Discover Psychology: A Brief Introductory Text
From NOBA
ePsych: an Electronic Psychology Text
2012. Does not appear updated.
InTech-Psychology Books
Science, Technology and Medicine open access publisher.
Publish, read and share novel research.
Introduction to Psychology
Open Textbook Library. 2015. Includes 13 reviews.
Published by University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.
Introduction to Psychology
By Charles Stangor, Saylor Academy.
OpenStax Psychology
Includes slides and test bank.
Social Psychology (LibreTexts)
Written by Dr. Charles Stangor, University of Maryland.
Introduction to Psychology: The Full Noba Collection
Open Textbook Library. 2016. Includes 7 reviews.
Published by Noba.
Abnormal Psychology
The content in this course was created and curated by Professor Bill Pelz at Herkimer College / SUNY and is provided under a Creative Commons license.