LibGuides: OER @ HFC (Open Educational Resource): OER @ HFC

Tina Ulrich's Information from her presentation

Michigan Colleges Online OER Commons Hub

Michigan Colleges Online is an initiative of the Michigan Community College Association and the 28 Michigan community colleges. The MCO provides this opportunity for the member institutions as a way to increase student success and completion, reduce costs for students and allow for inter-institutional collaboration with faculty. Check the Hub to browse resources recommended/created by faculty at 28 other Michigan colleges, search the broader OER Commons, or contribute to the HFC section of the hub.

HFC Library OER Content

Don't forget that you can also use HFC library content in your courses. Some library content is freely available for you to download and put right into your HFC Online course. Other library content can be used by putting a link in your HFC Online course. If you have any questions on how to use library owned content, please contact Tessa Betts (tbetts2@hfcc.edu).

Some places to begin your search:

Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly ebooks selected and curated by librarians on a variety of subjects.
eBook Collection (Wilson/EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Formerly NetLibrary, eBook Collection contains over 20,000 public-domain titles.
Access Tip: Also available via MeL.org
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly full-text articles in the arts, sciences, and social science disciplines.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
More than 60 databases with millions of full-text articles, from popular magazines, newspapers, academic/professional journals, and reference books covering most subject disciplines and topics.
Wilson/EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
More than 70 databases with academic journals and magazines, by discipline: Humanities, Social Sciences, Nursing (CINAHL), Science, Technology, Business, Education, Law, etc.

Summon
HFC Library aggregate search engine.

Want to Adopt this Guide?

Northwestern Michigan College (NMC) Library Research Guide on Open Educational Resources (OER) by NMC Librarians is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.