LibGuides: Faculty Resources on Race, Inclusion &amp; Society: Health

Search for Articles

Accessing online resources from home requires an HFC Library barcode. The barcode is a sticker that was placed on the back of your HFC student/faculty ID card.

If you don't have a library barcode number on your ID card, please Contact a Librarian for one.

You can also search additional databases on the Library's homepage under Research Databases.

If you have receive an error when clicking on the links below, try right-clicking on the title and choosing Open link in incognito window.

Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
More than 60 databases with millions of full-text articles, from popular magazines, newspapers, academic/professional journals, and reference books covering most subject disciplines and topics.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly full-text articles in the arts, sciences, and social science disciplines.
Wilson/EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
More than 70 databases with academic journals and magazines, by discipline: Humanities, Social Sciences, Nursing (CINAHL), Science, Technology, Business, Education, Law, etc.

Health Care Disparities

Bias In Medicine: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (HBO)
John Oliver discusses the roles that gender and racial bias can play in medical treatment. Warning: Video contains strong language. (22:37)
Poor Health: Assumptions, Facts, Opportunities - Abdul El-Sayed
How do social and economic factors influence health outcomes? Dr. Abdul El-Sayed explores these issues of unequal health and describes how public health can be leveraged to disrupt intergenerational poverty. (15:01)

Web Resources & Articles

Human Experimentation: Tuskegee Syphilis Study

Primary Sources

Butler, B. N. (1973). The Tuskegee syphilis study. Journal of the National Medical Association, 65(4), 345–348.

United States. Tuskegee Syphilis Study Ad Hoc Advisory Panel. (1973). Final report of the Tuskegee Syphilis Study Ad Hoc Advisory Panel. Washington, D.C.]: U.S. Dept. of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service.

Articles

Thomas, S. B., & Quinn, S. C. (1991). The Tuskegee Syphilis Study, 1932 to 1972: implications for HIV education and AIDS risk education programs in the black community. American Journal of Public Health, 81(11), 1498-1505.

Webpages & Archives

Tuskegee Syphilis Study | National Archives
Provides access to documents, images, and webpages. Use the Search Archives.gov box (Tuskegee Syphilis Study) then refine results in the left column. Not everything is online.
The Tuskegee Timeline
Part of the U.S. Public Health Service Syphilis Study at Tuskegee webpage maintained by the CDC.

Movies & Videos

Voices of the Tuskegee Study
Produced by The Tuskegee Human & Civil Rights Multicultural Center, Tuskegee, Alabama with a grant from The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (20:24)

Human Experimentation: Bioethics

The Legacy of Henrietta Lacks
Johns Hopkins Medicine website dedicated to the legacy of Henrietta Lacks contains information on the importance of HeLa cells, the role JH Hospital played in Mrs. Lacks story, FAQs and much more.

Journals

BMC International Health and Human Rights
An open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on the influences of human rights violations on health in developing and transitional countries, as well as all issues relating to the impact of health policies, programs and practices on human rights.
Ethnicity & Health
A bimonthly peer-reviewed medical journal covering the relationship between ethnicity and health.
Health and Human Rights Journal
An online, open-access publication published by the Harvard School of Public Health.
International Journal of Human Rights in Healthcare
An international, peer reviewed journal with a unique practical approach to promoting equality, inclusion and human rights in health and social care.
Journal of Health Disparities Research & Practice
A refereed online journal that explores the dimensions of health disparities globally. Published by Center for Health Disparities & Research - University of Nevada Las Vegas

Reproductive Rights & Coerced Sterilization

Bi, S., & Klusty, T. (2015). Forced sterilizations of HIV-positive women: a global ethics and policy failure. AMA journal of ethics, 17(10), 952-957.
David, H., Fleischhacker, J., & Hohn, C. (1988). Abortion and Eugenics in Nazi Germany. Population and Development Review, 14(1), 81-112. doi:10.2307/1972501
*To access this article, you must go to the library's JSTOR link and search the title.
Kendall, T., & Albert, C. (2015). Experiences of coercion to sterilize and forced sterilization among women living with HIV in Latin America. Journal of the International AIDS Society, 18(1), 19462.
Reilly, P. (1987). Involuntary Sterilization in the United States: A Surgical Solution. The Quarterly Review of Biology, 62(2), 153-170.
*To access this article, you must go to the library's JSTOR link and search the title.
Stern, A. M. (2005). Sterilized in the name of public health: race, immigration, and reproductive control in modern California. American Journal of Public Health, 95(7), 1128-1138.

Faculty Resources on Race, Inclusion & Society

Search for eBooks

Search for Print Books @ the Eshleman Library