LibGuides: Faculty Resources on Race, Inclusion &amp; Society: Media / AV

Videos via HFC Library Subscriptions

Accessing online resources from home requires an HFC Library barcode. The barcode is a sticker that was placed on the back of your HFC student/faculty ID card.

If you don't have a library barcode number on your ID card, please use Ask A Librarian to get one.

For Kanopy resources, you may be asked to create an individual account after logging in with your HFC barcode.

You can also find additional video resources on the Library's A-Z Database page.

Kanopy Films This link opens in a new window
An on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year.

TED Talks

The Danger of a Single Story - Chimamanda Adichie
"Our lives, our cultures, are composed of many overlapping stories. Novelist Chimamanda Adichie tells the story of how she found her authentic cultural voice -- and warns that if we hear only a single story about another person or country, we risk a critical misunderstanding." (18:42)
The Danger of Silence - Clint Smith
"We spend so much time listening to the things people are saying that we rarely pay attention to the things they don't," says poet and teacher Clint Smith. A short, powerful piece from the heart, about finding the courage to speak up against ignorance and injustice." (4:19)
How America's Public Schools Keep Kids in Poverty - Kandice Sumner
"Why should a good education be exclusive to rich kids? Schools in low-income neighborhoods across the US, specifically in communities of color, lack resources that are standard at wealthier schools -- things like musical instruments, new books, healthy school lunches and soccer fields -- and this has a real impact on the potential of students. Kandice Sumner sees the disparity every day in her classroom in Boston. In this inspiring talk, she asks us to face facts -- and change them." (13:43)
How Students of Color Confront Imposter Syndrome - Dena Simmons
"As a black woman from a tough part of the Bronx who grew up to attain all the markers of academic prestige, Dena Simmons knows that for students of color, success in school sometimes comes at the cost of living authentically. Now an educator herself, Simmons discusses how we might create a classroom that makes all students feel proud of who they are. "Every child deserves an education that guarantees the safety to learn in the comfort of one's own skin," she says." (10:13)
How to Deconstruct Racism, One Headline at a Time - Baratunde Thurston
"Baratunde Thurston explores the phenomenon of white Americans calling the police on black Americans who have committed the crimes of ... eating, walking or generally "living while black." In this profound, thought-provoking and often hilarious talk, he reveals the power of language to change stories of trauma into stories of healing -- while challenging us all to level up." (16:52)
How to Teach Kids to Talk about Taboo Topics - Liz Kleinrock
"When one of Liz Kleinrock's fourth-grade students said the unthinkable at the start of a class on race, she knew it was far too important a teachable moment to miss. But where to start? Learn how Kleinrock teaches kids to discuss taboo topics without fear -- because the best way to start solving social problems is to talk about them." (11:41)
How We Can Start to Heal the Pain of Racial Division - Ruby Sales
""Where does it hurt?" It's a question that activist and educator Ruby Sales has traveled the US asking, looking deeply at the country's legacy of racism and searching for sources of healing. In this moving talk, she shares what she's learned, reflecting on her time as a freedom fighter in the civil rights movement and offering new thinking on pathways to racial justice." (20:21)
Islamophobia Killed My Brother: Let's End the Hate - Suzanne Barakat
"On February 10, 2015, Suzanne Barakat's brother Deah, her sister-in-law Yusor and Yusor's sister Razan were murdered by their neighbor in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. The perpetrator's story, that he killed them over a traffic dispute, went unquestioned by the media and police until Barakat spoke out at a press conference, calling the murders what they really were: hate crimes. As she reflects on how she and her family reclaimed control of their narrative, Barakat calls on us to speak up when we witness hateful bigotry and express our allyship with those who face discrimination." (14:49)
The Muslim on the Airplane - Amal Kassir
"Watching the news, it seems like ethnic divides are ever-deepening. But how can we solve these complicated problems when each side lives in fear of the other? The answer is simple, argues Syrian-American poet Amal Kassir - it starts with, “What’s your name?”" (15:58)
A Short History of Trans People's Long Fight for Equality -Samy Nour Younes
"Transgender activist and TED Resident Samy Nour Younes shares the remarkable, centuries-old history of the trans community, filled with courageous stories, inspiring triumphs -- and a fight for civil rights that's been raging for a long time. "Imagine how the conversation would shift if we acknowledge just how long trans people have been demanding equality," he says." (6:07)

Podcasts

Code Switch
Recorded by a team of journalists fascinated by the overlapping themes of race, ethnicity and culture, how they play out in our lives and communities, and how all of this is shifting.
Hidden Brain
Using science and storytelling, Hidden Brain reveals the unconscious patterns that drive human behavior, and the biases that shape our choices.
Identity Politics
Features new stories and perspectives about race, gender and Muslim life in America.
Latinos Who Lunch
Conversations about everything from pop culture to art and identity politics.
Represent
Although no longer actively recording episodes, the show's catalog remains available for listening. Represent is a space for discussion, highlighting movies, TV, and online shows created by and/or about women, people of color, people with disabilities, and those in the LGBTQ community.
See Something Say Something
Covers everything that American Muslims are talking about right now — misrepresentation in the media, equality in the mosque, Asahd memes, and much more.
Self Evident
Challenges the narratives about where we’re from, where we belong, and where we’re going — by telling Asian America’s stories.
Sooo Many White Guys
Intimate, funny conversations with all kinds of artists who (mostly) aren’t white dudes.
Strange Fruit
Musings on politics, pop culture, and black gay life.

Images

African American Photographs Assembled for 1900 Paris Exposition
The Paris Exposition of 1900 devoted a building to matters of "social economy." The United States section of the building featured an exhibit that, according to W. E. B. Du Bois, attempted to show "(a) The history of the American Negro. (b) His present condition. (c) His education. (d) His literature."
Gladstone Collection of African American Photographs
Provides almost 350 images showing African Americans and related military and social history. The Civil War era is the primary time period covered, with scattered examples through 1945. Subjects of special note include Sojourner Truth, Buffalo Soldiers, fugitive slaves, former slave children from New Orleans, and freed slaves at Seabrook Plantation in South Carolina.
Grabill Collection
Photographic images capture the forces of western settlement in South Dakota and Wyoming and document its effects on the area's indigenous communities. The collection includes a visual record of railroad development, coaches and wagons, mining, smeltering, and milling, freighting, emerging cities and towns, parades, cattle roundups and branding, sheepherding, prospecting, hunting, and Chinese immigrants, as well as landscapes. A number of the images portray the Lakota Sioux living on or near the Cheyenne River and the Pine Ridge reservations and their contact with U.S. military and government agents, and with William "Buffalo Bill" Cody. Some of the photographs were taken only days after the 1890 massacre at Wounded Knee near Pine Ridge.

Faculty Resources on Race, Inclusion & Society

Video

Literature / Speeches

Art & Music

Videos via HFC Library Subscriptions

TED Talks

Podcasts

Images